Anti-climactic

So, just to wrap up The 7 Experiment, it ended. The last week, on the topic of stress, ended up not being something that impacted me at the present moment in my life. I may at one point feel the need to go back and revisit it and find it deeply meaningful. Just not right now.

The challenge was to stop, 7 times a day, at appointed times, and read a verse and pray. And I fully admit, I didn’t do it. It was not only not feasible with my schedule (when you go to bed between 7:30 and 8pm to get up at 4am, you just are not going to set you alarm for 9pm and midnight to read a verse and pray), it just felt a little too ritualistic to me. Too compulsory; and that is not how I like to think about my communications with God. I live alone and talk to God throughout my day quite regularly, conversationally; to the point people who didn’t know Who I was talking to might think I’m a little loopy. I didn’t feel compelled to set my alarm 7 times a day to do it because I was being required to. I would find the alarm bells stressful. It just wouldn’t work, for ME.

That week may have profoundly impacted thousands of people, so don’t see this as me knocking the study in any way. But it did have the benefit of driving me to think more deeply about how God would have ME deal with stress in my life.

I have carried away so much from Jen Hatmaker’s study that I am truly grateful for the experience. I am compelled to live differently. I think now is just the time for me to study more deeply on my own and see what God has for me directly.

About findingmyselfinhim

I'm a single Christian bookworm learning daily how much I don't know about ...well, everything. Instead of trying to find myself out "there", I'm trying to find myself in Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anti-climactic

  1. Jen Hatmaker? I may have saved for later a previous posting that mentioned her. I have saved your postings that I haven’t yet read….will try to catch up within the next 2 weeks. I’m going to FL to spend a week with my step-mother at the beach (! YAY!) for my 60th birthday. Decided I didn’t really want to do a party after all. Not really me. I’m taking books and paints and hoping to walk on the beach a lot. Keep me posted on job search for Oregon. Love, me

    Like

    • Hi Amy. Jen Hatmaker wrote The 7 Experiment. The previous 6 posts were about how I was walking through the 7 challenges in the book. There was a big lag between the last post and the others, mostly because I didn’t really do that last week. I’m so glad you are going to FL for your birthday. I know how much you love it there, and what could be more wonderful for you than to spend it in a place you love, doing the things that recharge you. I hope it’s a wonderful time! We’ll get together when you get back!

      Like

Leave a Reply

