Food Challenge Results; the Next Challenge: Clothes!

So I have reached the end of 1 week eating only seven items: chicken, eggs, whole grain gluten-free bread, sweet potatoes, spinach, avocados, and apples. I have a new favorite comfort food…avocado toast. I like mine with hard boiled egg on top (the photo below was not taken by me).

avocado toast

Overall it wasn’t too bad. Day 1 was easy, day 2 was hard. Day 3 I realized I only like spinach raw, in salads…not so much cooked. With the summer heat in Phoenix, I found myself having a simple sweet potato for dinner most nights. Boy, did I miss seasonings. Sage, thyme, nutmeg, garlic, and onions haunted my dreams.

But more importantly, I learned things about myself. First, limited choices not only makes mealtime more simple, but less stressful. I knew what I had available. There was no agonizing over wishing for this or that when I knew what I had was what I would get; and it would require preparation on my part. Eating whole foods (with the exception of the GF bread) was very satisfying. I was full on much less. Yesterday evening I did have a little moment where my stomach informed me it was ready for more variety; and I admit I am thrilled that as of tomorrow I can eat some of the organic tomatoes I got this week. I can make a salad with the rest of my spinach.

Perhaps most surprising is that I intend to continue on this path. While I will be adding more variety to my diet, I want to continue with eating whole foods (with a minimum of whole grain GF bread added in). I’ll include my grass-fed beef alongside the chicken and eggs, and I’ll change out the fruits and veggies to take advantage of the local seasonal produce; but I’m going to make a focused effort to eliminate processed foods from my home. I’ll save them for special occasions and holidays.

One of the main things I feel God showed me during this week was that I had allowed fear to creep into how I ate. I went through a time in my life when I had to survive on very little food ($8/week for groceries). For a four year period, I survived largely on saltines and Raman noodles. While I’m thankfully better off financially, I realized that time had left its impression on me. Any time I went through a more moderate financial squeeze, I became afraid of not having food again. I would panic, and buy too much, and eat too much. I’m now asking God to help me trust Him through those times; so that I don’t respond out of fear, but out of faith.

clothes
So this next 7 days’ challenge? Clothing. Wear only 7 items of clothing over the next 7 days (shoes count as 1 item, undergarments are freebies). I’ll have one pair of jeans, one pair of dress slacks, two tops (business casual), my pj top and bottoms, and my shoes. I have a couple of business meetings this week which will make this more challenging than normal; but I am reminded of those sweet children I visited in Thailand. They had one school uniform and one set of play clothes, that’s it. I’m interested to see what this week will be like.

About findingmyselfinhim

I'm a single Christian bookworm learning daily how much I don't know about ...well, everything. Instead of trying to find myself out "there", I'm trying to find myself in Him.
This entry was posted in Christian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

