Queenstown/Walter Peak (travel blog pt 9)

The next day was a free day. My new Aussie friend, Donna, and I headed back up the steep cliff near the gondola ride to visit the Kiwi Birdlife Park. The bulk of that experience is already discussed under the Birds of NZ part of my travel blog, so I will spare you the repeat.

After the bird park, Donna and I walked down into Queenstown for lunch at FergBurger, a place with every kind of burger imaginable and a line out the door. They impressed me with their gluten free hamburger buns that were every bit as huge as their hamburger patties. Fries were extra, but $4.50 gives you more than enough for two people to share.

From there we went back to our hotels for a nap because we knew it would be a late night. Before dinner we boarded the TSS Earnslaw (TSS stands for Turn Screw Steamship). Thankfully we could open the windows on the ship because the smell from the coal furnace was pervasive.

The scenery, as always, was stunning.

Soon we arrived at Walter Peak station where we had an amazing meal (with lots of gluten free options among the main courses).

After dinner we were treated to a sheepdog demonstration as well as a sheering demonstration (again, sorry for the blurs, apparently the low light was not a good combo with the way my camera was set, live and learn).




Since it was dark as we made our way back across the lake on the steamer, they had an old-fashioned piano sing-a-long. Thankfully they provided the words as there was a mix of favorites from the UK, Australia, New Zealand, and the US. It was thoroughly enjoyable and definitely one of the best parts of the trip.

About findingmyselfinhim

I'm a single Christian bookworm learning daily how much I don't know about ...well, everything. Instead of trying to find myself out "there", I'm trying to find myself in Him.
This entry was posted in travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

