What Wonder Woman and I have in Common…

Wonder Woman and I have something in common…apparently we both operate invisible vehicles. 

I have long suspected that my car is invisible to others…based on the number of times someone cuts me off, or pulls out in front of me doing 5 miles an hour…but it doesn’t stop there.

My car is invisible to pedestrians as well. I came out of Hallmark to find a lady standing behind my car. She looked at me as I walked up. She turned away as I got in. My car must go invisible when I start the ignition because she just stood there, directly behind my car. I tapped my brakes, hoping my tail lights would get her attention. Nope. I revved my engine thinking maybe she’d hear it and get the hint. Nope.

Then a man and his daughter came out and got into the car next to me. That’s when the lady blocking my car decided to move to the sidewalk. (sigh).

Later that same day as I pulled into my apartment complex, there were people walking down the middle of the driveway…and they continued to do so as I pulled in behind them. I followed them for 100 yards, creeping along, the headlights of my car illuminating their steps…before they finally turned off to a sidewalk. (sigh).

My pastor pointed out Sunday that this time of year is often the most difficult for people. Those who have lost loved ones face holidays filled with bittersweet (if not painful) memories. Single people often feel forgotten. People with big expectations are often disappointed. Others are jaded because they’ve never been able to recapture the excitement that Christmas brought to them when they were young.

I caught myself, tonite, feeling that loss. It dawned on me that Christmas is in a week, and something just seemed to be missing. Fewer people seem to have lights up this year. Fewer cars decorated with reindeer antlers or Santa hats. Fewer smiles.

I know some people find Christmas “too commercial” and hate feeling forced to buy into it. I don’t. I never have. I’ve always looked at it as the one time of the year that most of the world, believers or not, sing of my Jesus. They follow traditions rooted in centuries of celebrating the birth of Light into the world. Every decorated house, every decorated tree reminds me of that Light. Light in the darkness. Hope for the world. 

So to all those feeling invisible this holiday season…you are in good company.

Colossians 1:15-16 He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. For by him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by him and for him.

Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory for ever and ever. Amen. (1 Timothy 1:17).

 

About findingmyselfinhim

I'm a single Christian bookworm learning daily how much I don't know about ...well, everything. Instead of trying to find myself out "there", I'm trying to find myself in Him.
This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

