to behold the beauty…

I hadn’t intended to make this a series of postings, but after yesterday’s post I find myself unable to think of anything else…so it continues…

I’m one of those people who can spend 20 minutes staring when I’m overcome by something beautiful that I’m seeing for the first time. I can stroll through a museum exhibit, but when I see something like Degas’ “Melancholy” I can’t move. It was so tiny, but there was so much emotion in it. I almost felt I had to hide it because surely someone would walk by and see that he had painted my soul.

When I’m on vacation and motivated to reach destinations, I have to schedule in time to stop and stare, so that I can balance my compulsion to get on to the next thing with my need to absorb the beauty of what I see.

I am fortunate. I have been to Glacier Bay (it took me 20 minutes to recover my ability to speak it was so profoundly breathtaking). I cannot imagine any place more beautiful than Alaska. Glacier National Park in Montana is my next favorite. If I ever decided to be cremated and have my ashes sprinkled somewhere, it’d be there. I’ve been to Yosemite and my mind flashed on every Ansel Adams photo I’d ever hung in my room. I held my nose at Yellowstone and really understood why those who had first travelled there as tourists thought it to be hellish. The sulfur is noxious, but there were other parts of canyon and waterfalls that were astounding. Grand Tetons is splendid. It borders on the ideal because it is so much less crowded it’s pristine (not to mention it smells of pine and wildflower and NOT rotten eggs). Zion has it’s own splendor, best NOT viewed in 96 degree weather. And then there’s my home state’s claim to fame: the Grand Canyon.

Upon seeing it for the first time Margaret Gehrke said:

“A few things in this beautiful old world are too big to talk about… One can only weep before so supreme a spectacle of glory and of majesty!”

What I’ve tried to say in too many words, she said so eloquently in 1915. I’ve been there huddled and shivering with a group of friends as we watched the sunrise. There just aren’t words.

There is so much beauty in this world. The news rarely speaks of it. The media rarely displays it. But it is out there, waiting silently for us to bring our battered and worn out spirits to its healing salve….applied through our eyes, and soaked into our souls.

In nature God speaks without words.

 

 

 

 

About findingmyselfinhim

I'm a single Christian bookworm learning daily how much I don't know about ...well, everything. Instead of trying to find myself out "there", I'm trying to find myself in Him.
This entry was posted in Christian, nature. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to to behold the beauty…

  1. Dee Dee this is a beautiful post. You do a wonderful job of making the reader feel like they are there, experiencing it with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

